Magic plait knitted hairband

At the moment I am struggling with the trauma that is growing out my fringe (I think I am – I’m not sure – to fringe or not to fringe – all I know is that it’s getting long!) In my adult hair life I have switched between a short blunt fringe, to a deep fringe, to a side parted sweep a few times (as a child and teen it was fringe all the way!) I had my current fringe cut in when Rose was little to save me having to pluck my eyebrows, but now i have a bit more time for grooming (a little bit!) I think it’s a good time for a change.

But at the moment it is in that terrible, too long to wear as a fringe, but not long enough to clip, phase (my fringe hair seems to be very very straight and doesn’t sweep naturally at all until it is quite a bit longer)

Then it came to me – I need a head band!

Whilst pinteresting my evening away, i came across a really clever little pattern for a fake plaited headband and really wanted to give it a go. I couldn’t find any real instructions so I decided to write my own! I had some golden yellow wool to use and thought it might look like a lovely harvest festival corn crown.

I used DK weight yarn and 3.75mm needles for mine, but you could definitely experiment with heavier or lighter yarns, for different effects. I wanted my headband to be on the slim side and at first was worried my bars were going to be too short to thread through (you’ll see what I mean in a minute) but it all worked out grandly in the end. I think though if i were using a chunkier wool though, i would need to increase the number of stitches in my bars slightly.

 

 

hoop and button on knitted hairbandIMG_1023

Yay! What a wonder. I am really pleased with this finished item (although i admit i do look very serious here) – it has been so nice to wear, like a little crown – especially nice with plaited hair. And I really enjoyed this little project. There might be a few more hair bands in the making in the near future – I especially think I need a black one for work wear and formal functions. What do you think?

And if you would like to see the pattern I wrote and have a go yourself, you can find it here in my tiny shop:

hooray

5 thoughts on “Magic plait knitted hairband

Leave a Reply

