Hot fuzz

We have had such a wonderful Christmas time. We spent a few days at my parents’ house as we have every year since Rose was born, but this – her third Christmas – was by far the most magical, least stressful, most restful to date. She is at such a nice age, she knows all the special people and loves to get them to play with her. She was really excited by the ‘chimmee’ in nanny and pop pop’s sitting room and kept retelling how Santa had come in and left the presents on the floor. I loved hearing this story so much.

One little pre-christmas present I made her as a really portable and no-space, no-mess activity for these holidays was a bit of fuzzy felt.  I have fond memories of this little activity from when I was little (and also a really strange very early memory of fuzzy felt which i think i am confusing with a memory of those little verruca pad things? memories can be strange. i sometimes wonder if Rose will remember things we do now in a weird way later…). I think my version is much coarser than the mass produced type, but for little Rose it seems to be just fine.

DSC04151

If you have never come across fuzzy felt before, it is a really simple toy for children. Felt pieces will cling to each other, so it is great to  make pictures using felt pieces on a felt back ground (I very lazily just used a larger square of felt for my background, but you could put this onto a piece of board to keep it really flat). The pieces cling really nicely, but are easy to move around for hours of fun (or minutes depending on the age of child!)

DSC04163 DSC04160DSC04158 DSC04153

It was difficult for me to decide what shapes to make for my fuzzy felt set. I had seen lots of felt Christmas trees that children can decorate with felt decorations (which was my original inspiration for this little toy) but I decided to go for something less seasonal and in the end I created a little landscape scene.

I bought my felt from my local haberdashery but have seen it in all sorts of places for sale. My pieces were about 50p each so I managed to get a nice range of colours for just a few pounds. I cut out shapes of lots of things from the world that I knew Rose will recognise, trees and a car and clouds and a cat. I hoped she would enjoy putting together little scenes and so far we have had some lovely little plays with this one, and lots of conversations about ducks on the water. Success.

DSC04190

Leave a Reply

