Picnic Cake

At the weekend we had a lovely meet up with friends. I loved this day. Our original plan was to have a picnic on the beach, but unfortunately the weather was not really right for a picnic, so we brought the party indoors and had a nice time all the same.

For the event I decided to make a savoury cake, as these are meant to be ideal picnic fare. I went through a little phase of making these before and really liked them.

IMG_3618

The recipe I used was a Rachel Khoo recipe. Her cooking is a bit french inspired which I like. I had previously tried this one for a prune, pistachio and cheese cake. This time I went for her more Mediterranean recipe crammed with sundried tomatoes, olives, feta cheese and hazelnuts (that bit not so Mediterranean!)

i n g r e d i e n t s :

3 medium eggs
25g caster sugar
250g plain flour
1 tsp sea salt (I regretted adding this)
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp sweet smoked paprika (I used normal paprika and it was still nice) 100ml buttermilk
150ml olive oil
100g sundried tomatoes
80g black olives
60g hazelnuts
1 medium courgette
100g soft goat’s cheese

sundried tomatoes and olives and hazelnutsIMG_3608

m e t h o d :

Start by preheating your oven to 180C and grease and line a 2lb loaf tin with baking paper. Beat the eggs and caster sugar together. Measure out your flour, salt (if using), baking powder and paprika in a separate bowl and then fold into the egg mixture. Measure out your buttermilk and olive oil and mix in. Roughly chop the sundried tomatoes, olives and hazelnuts and add to the batter. Coursely grate in the courgette and crumble in the goat’s cheese. Pour the mixture into the loaf tin and bake for 45 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the cake comes out clean. You want it to have a lovely golden crust. Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes before turning out. Et voila!

IMG_3612IMG_3615

Everyone seemed to really enjoy this cake, although for me it was too salty. I don’t normally add the salt in recipes, but for some reason decided I would this time, and I really wished I hadn’t. A lesson learnt! And the afternoon was full of all sorts of tasty treats and super company. I am hoping next time also we’ll have sunshine and then what a perfect time it will be!

IMG_3621

Leave a Reply

