Bird this week: Nuthatch

Have you ever heard of this one? I never had but would love to spot one now – little gem. When I saw his picture in my book I thought he must be made. Such great colour combination! There are quite a few varieties of nuthatch too which made my job a little bit confusing, but this one is based on the one you’d be most likely to see in Britain… (I think)

Nuthatch crochet bird of the weekNuthatch crochet bird of the week

Albert is going through some sort of wonder week (month), developmental, clingy phase at the moment, so I am back to mostly crocheting in the dark. So this was a bit of a triumph. I think I probably made about five nuthatches with all the trial and error and unpicking and redoing – phewee.

Nuthatch crochet bird of the weekNuthatch crochet bird of the week

Nuthatch has a lovely peach tummy and white cheeks and an amazing black eye stripe.

Now I am scanning my book (and the trees and skies) for more colourful specimens…

Leave a Reply

